Prix Prestige Awards

Click here to view the 2017 event page.

2017 Prix Prestige Award Nominees

2017 Planner of the Year – Rose Marie Guerra, CMP, Department of Justice Canada

Planner of the Year Nominees:

Nathalie Carrier, Ottawa 2017
Rose-Marie Guerra, CMP, Department of Justice Canada
Meg LaPlante, Canadian Teachers’ Federation

2017 Supplier of the Year Andrew Horsfield, The Lord Elgin Hotel

Supplier of the Year Nominees:

Cindy Gascon, Fairmont Hotels ~ Quebec Resorts
Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment
Andrew Horsfield, The Lord Elgin Hotel

2017 Student of the Year – Katherine Craig

Student of the Year Nominees:

Erin Bellwood
Katherine Craig
Jeanette Tachynsky

2017 Mentor of the Year – Nathalie Tremblay, CMP

Mentor of the Year Nominees:

Riccarda Galioto, AMMI Canada
Cindy Gascon, Fairmont Resorts ~ Quebec Hotels
Louise Gervais, CMP, CMM, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment
Melanie Hudson, National Association of Federal Retirees
Angela Jefferies, Business Events Toronto
Rozanne Lyons, CMP, Intertask Conferences
Martha Tobin, Staples Promotional Products
Nathalie Tremblay, CMP, Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

2017 Rising Star Alison Peverley, Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club

Rising Star Nominees:

Patti Johnson, Chic & Swell
Jasmine Leese, Le Belvedere
Alison Peverley, Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club
Violeta Ugarte, Meetings + Conventions Calgary

2017 Volunteer Award Winner – Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment

Volunteer Award

Angelita Aboukassam, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
Cynthia Beaudin, Canada Foundation for Innovation
Ashley Craven, Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences
Cindy Gascon, Fairmont Hotels ~ Quebec Resorts
Paul Glover, CMP, AMMI Canada
Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment
Laurence Lavallée, Canadian Meat Council
Desmond Lomas, CMP, The Howes Group
Barb Outschoorn, Beanfield Centre
Janette Rached, La Diva Events
Joanne St. Pierre, Xpert Meeting Planning & Event Services
Nathalie Tremblay, CMP, Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Scott Ventresca, Business Events Toronto

2017 Honourary Member – Norman Reid

2017 President’s Award Recipient – Riccarda Galioto, AMMI Canada

2017 Prix Prestige Awards

The MPI Ottawa Prix Prestige Awards are designed to recognize excellence in active chapter members for their commitment, service and involvement in the chapter or industry and community at large.

MPI Ottawa’s Prix Prestige Awards reflect the best of the best in the meetings industry and are awarded each year under the following categories: Planner of the Year, Supplier of the Year, Mentor of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Student of the Year, and Rising Star. There are also two special categories bestowed at the discretion of the President: Honourary Member, and the President’s Award.

For a number of years, the MPI Ottawa Chapter has recognized longstanding retired members of the chapter and community leaders who have made significant contributions to the MPI Ottawa Chapter or to the meetings, tourism or hospitality industry by awarding them Honourary Memberships in the Chapter. Although nominations are welcomed from the membership, the final decision resides with the President.

The President’s Award is bestowed to an individual who has made a unique and outstanding contribution to our Chapter. This award is not necessarily given out annually, but rather as a deserving individual is deemed worthy by the President.

Nomination Process

Nominations are received from the MPI Ottawa membership for all Award categories with the exception of the President’s Award. MPI Ottawa members are asked to complete a nomination form on behalf of their nominee(s) and include detailed information on their contributions to the meetings industry and the Ottawa Chapter. Upon return of completed forms to the Secretariat, all nominations are reviewed by the Chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee to ensure that they meet the Selection Criteria as outlined in the Awards application. Each nominee is then contacted and must accept the nomination. Once the nomination slate is finalized, the completed forms are passed on to the Executive members of the Chapter’s Board of Directors, who are tasked with selecting the award recipient for each category. 2017 nominations are closed.